Lab Projects

This week in my biology lab, we will begin working on our group projects. A few weeks ago we were given a list of biological topics and assigned a paper to write about a single specific topic from the list. I had chosen extremophiles. Extremophiles are organisms that thrive in conditions that would be toxic to any other organism, such as neutrophiles. An extremophile is the type of organism that can live in hydrochloric acid or volcanic ash. 2034647184I was interested in what exactly made these organisms adapt to life in such harsh conditions. In our lab, depending on how many people wrote about which topic, we were placed in small groups of 3-4 students. I wasn’t the only one who chose to write about extremophiles, luckily, otherwise I would have to do my project on something that did not interest me as much.

We presented our experiment last week to my lab instructor Katie and Dr. Kenna who is the head of our lab and got the OK to go ahead with our experiment. Using the materials and organisms provided by Lehigh University, we will conduct an experiment to prove whether the bacteria Bacillus Subtilis can be classified as an extremophile or not.

This week, we will begin to experiment! I have my own predictions, based on research, of what will happen, but I’m looking forward to being surprised as well.

Til next time xoxo

Leave a Reply

